How do you get a fowl in basketball?

Most fouls occur as a result of illegal personal contact with an opponent and or unsportsmanlike behavior. Fouls can result in one or more of the following penalties. team whose player committed the foul loses possession of the ball to the other team. The fouled player is awarded free throws.