What is magic quadrant?

The magic quadrant is a marketing research term from Gartner. It uses a graph divided into four quadrants. The x axis is completeness of vision, the y axis is ability to execute. The quadrants are challengers, leaders, niche players, and visionaries. Gartner rates many businesses using this system.