Is buttermilk supposed to be clumpy?

If it's fresh buttermilk from a farm, it might have little pieces of butter about the size of a grain of rice in it. Commercial buttermilk usually does not have any little pieces of butter. If your buttermilk is clumpy, it's gone bad. Toss it.