What's the difference between parchment paper and foil?

Parchment paper is commonly used in baking as a disposable non-stick, grease resistant surface. Aluminum foil is often used to wrap food items, line baking pans, and cover items during cooking to hold in moisture. Foil, unlike parchment paper, will sometimes still need to be greased.