What does recycle number one mean?

Also known as PETE, this symbol represents polyethylene terephthalate, which is commonly used for soft drink bottles, mineral water containers, and fruit juice containers, and cooking oil containers. The plastic is easily recyclable so it's often part of curbside recycling programs

---

PET or PETE is what's used to make bottles for soda, water and other drinks. It's also used to make cooking oil containers, plastic peanut butter jars and containers for other popular food items. PET/PETE products CAN be recycled