What's the top soil?

Topsoil is the upper, outermost layer of soil, usually the top 5 to 10 inches. It has the highest concentration of organic matter and microorganisms and is where most of the Earth's biological soil activity occurs. Topsoil is composed of mineral particles, organic matter, water, and air.