What color is a gopher snake?

Gopher snakes are all sorts of shades of brown, with an intricate pattern of dark stripes along their back, a pale brown head, & light stripes along its sides. The underside of the snake is light brown.

---

On its back are 33 to 66 light- to dark-brown or reddish blotches on a ground color of yellow, straw, tan or cream. Smaller blotches are located on the animals sides.