Who is general armstrong?

Samuel Chapman Armstrong, American soldier & general in the American Civil War, became an educator, particularly of non-whites. The son of missionaries in Hawaii, he rose through the Union Army during the American Civil War to become a general, leading units of African American soldiers. Wikipedia