Who is the most decorated american soldier?

In 1980 Lt. Col. Matt Urban finally received his long overdue Congressional Medal of Honor, making him, according to the 1989 “Guiness Book of World Records”, the most combat decorated soldier in American History, surpassing Audie Murphy.

---

Audie Murphy and Infantry soldier has won the highest medals you can get, even some Allies' medals of honor he won. The highest being US Medal of Honor