How can you clean coins?

Place coins in a bowl and pour 1 teaspoon of salt and 1/4 cup of lemon juice to cover the coins. Let the coins soak for at least 5 minutes but not more than 15 minutes. Remove the coins and gently scrub the residue with the toothbrush. Rinse the dirt off with water and dry with a cloth.

---

Cleaning coins that have antique or rare coin value can reduce the value of the coin. Simple soap and water will remove excess dirt. Using a tarnish remover, acid, scrubbing compound can destroy the collector value of a coin.