How far can a gun shoot?

The 9mm cartridge was designed to perform up to 50 yards, but will shoot much farther. A 115 grain 9mm FMJ bullet with an initial velocity of 1200 feet per second, zeroed in at 50 yards, will drop about 24 inches at 160 yards, 36 inches at 180 yards, and at 200 yards is effectively in the dirt.