How do you vacuum a shag rug?

Start vacuuming by moving the vacuum head away from you. Stand on the edge of the rug to keep it in place as you vacuum. This will loosen whatever remaining dust, dirt, or debris there is trapped in the fibers. Roll out the rug and vacuum the floor where you had just vacuumed the rug's underside.