Does acetone eat through plastic?

There are all kinds of plastics. If a particular plastic bears a close enough similarity to acetone, the acetone will dissolve or at least affect its surface, softening, smearing or even dissolving the plastic. Other plastics, dissimilar to acetone, will remain unaffected by the solvent.