Do you deal cards clockwise or counterclockwise?

Dealing is done either clockwise or counterclockwise. If this is omitted from the rules, then it should be assumed to be: clockwise for games from North America, North and West Europe and Russia; counterclockwise for South and East Europe and Asia, also for Swiss games and all Tarot games.