What is a hockey sack?

Hacky Sack, is the name of a brand of footbag popular in the 1970s, (currently owned by Wham-O ), which has since become a generic trademark. The most common game of footbag consists of two or more players standing in a circle and trying to keep the sack off the ground for as long as possible.