What is a van degraff generator?

A Van de Graaff generator is an electrostatic generator which uses a moving belt to accumulate electric charge on a hollow metal globe on the top of an insulated column, creating very high electric potentials. It produces very high voltage direct current electricity at low current levels.

---

A Van de Graaff generator is a device for making lots of static electricity.