What's a replacement for corn meal?

If you need coarse cornmeal for preparing a dish, use coarse polenta instead. Polenta flour is an ideal replacement for cornflour. If you need cornmeal to sprinkle on a bread pan, you may use corn flour or polenta flour as a substitute. However, you will not get the crunchy texture of cornmeal.