What is hydrocortisone ointment used for?

Hydrocortisone is a topical corticosteroid that can be used to reduce the itch from an allergic reaction. Hydrocortisone should not be used if the skin is infected as it may contribute to a worsening infection. Consult a medical professional to learn more about safe use of the drug.

---

Hydrocortisone reduces the swelling, itching, and redness. Used to treat a variety of skin conditions (e.g., insect bites, poison oak, poison ivy, eczema, dermatitis, allergies, rash, itching of privates and rectal area)