Why do people laugh when they're tickled?

Scientists found being tickled stimulates your hypothalamus, the area of the brain in charge of your emotional reactions, and your fight or flight and pain responses. When you're tickled, you may be laughing not because you're having fun, but because you're having an autonomic emotional response.