What does valic mean?

he Variable Annuity Life Insurance Company, or VALIC, a subsidiary of American International Group, Inc., is an insurance corporation that specializes in tax-qualified retirement plans, supplemental tax-deferred and after-tax investments. VALIC's headquarters are in Houston, Texas.