What can i substitute for half a cup of vegetable oil?

Try grapeseed oil, canola oil, or sunflower oil as a 1 for 1 substitute for vegetable oil. Find organic versions of these oils if you can. They all have a neutral flavor and are pretty interchangeable with vegetable oil.