What is a rain shadow desert?

A rain shadow is a patch of land that has been forced to become a desert because mountain ranges blocked all plant-growing, rainy weather. On one side of the mountain, wet weather systems drop rain and snow. In a rain shadow, it's warm and dry. On the other side of the mountain, it's wet and cool.