How do you measure gallons?

Gallons are a measurement of volume, a portion of three-dimensional space. A gallon is the amount of space equal to four quarts, sixteen cups, or 3.79 liters. To measure one gallon of something, either use a gallon-sized container (such as a jug) or count out the right multiple of a smaller measure.