Is m. a. d. d. e. r. a word?

Yes. "Madder" is a word. It can mean "more angry" or "more crazy," as in "mad, madder, maddest." Also, it is a red hue used in paints and dyes, as in "madder rose." The dye comes from the madder plant, also known as Rubia tinctorum, which originates in the Mediterranean.