Why is mcdonald's called mcdonald's?

Richard and Maurice McDonald opened the Speedee Service System burger restaurant in San Bernardino, California in 1940. The McDonald's name was first used in 1955 when Ray Kroc opened a franchised restaurant location in Illinois under his partnership with the McDonald brothers.