What came first the grilled cheese or the hamburger?

The hamburger dates back at least to the late 19th century, while the earliest appearance of anything resembling a grilled cheese sandwich is from 1902, so clearly the hamburger came first.

---

Although no one can pinpoint the precise origin of grilled cheese, the sandwich became very popular in the 1920s. In 1926 Lionel Sternberger is said to have invented the cheeseburger. The 16 year old fry cook at The Rite Spot in Pasadena, CA added American cheese to a sizzling hamburger.