Is an american staffordshire terrier a pitbull?

Generally speaking, the American Staffordshire terrier is nearly the same breed as the American pit bull terrier. The main difference is in appearance. The American Staffordshire terrier is bred in part for AKC conformation and conforms to a stricter standard, particularly in size range.