How long does it take for something to get to room temperature?

That is a complex question. It depends on what the "something" is -- what material it's made of -- and what temperature it starts out at. For example an 8-oz glass of water starting at 50º, will reach room temperature faster than an 8-oz glass of water starting at 35º.