What is the black seed?

Black seed is the common name for the seeds of the Nigella sativa plant, which grows in southern Europe, the Middle East, and southwest Asia. It's also known as nigella, black cumin, fennel flower, black caraway, and Roman coriander. Black seed oil is extracted from these seeds.