What kind of creature is yoda?

Yoda is a fictional character in the Star Wars universe, which first appears in the 1980 film The Empire Strikes Back. He is a small, green humanoid alien. Star Wars creator George Lucas chose to keep the name and background of Yoda's species a mystery and list their species as "Unknown."

---

Yoda and the few others of his kind that we have seen in the Star Wars movies and shows have not been given a name for their species or home world.