What kind of a doctor is an internist?

A physician who specializes in the diagnosis and medical treatment of adults. This specialty, called internal medicine, is dedicated to adults. A minimum of seven years of medical school and postgraduate training are focused on learning the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of diseases of adults