What is an anaphylactic reaction?

In an allergic reaction, the body inappropriately releases several signals to respond to a perceived immune threat. An anaphylactic reaction is an extreme allergic reaction that could lead to a state of shock. Anaphylaxis can be life threatening and must be addressed immediately.