How much does a dog sleep during the day?

The average dog sleeps for about 12 to 14 hours per 24-hour cycle. That's just the beginning, though. Puppies, who expend a lot of energy exploring and learning may need as much as 18 to 20 hours. Older dogs also tend to need more rest, as do certain breeds.