What does a. t. r. stand for?

First, ATR is most commonly referred as Average True Range. ATR is a market volatility indicator used in stock market analysis. Basically, a 14 day period of time is used to analyze the markets for that given time. Rather than looking at the market on a day to day basis, the ATR uses 14 days.