How does chocolate grow?

Cocoa beans grow in pods that sprout off of the trunk and branches of cocoa trees. The pods are about the size of a football. The pods start out green and turn orange when they're ripe. When the pods are ripe, they are harvested with machetes and pods are gently taken off of the trees.