Is kansas city in kansas or missouri?

Just to confuse everyone, we have 2 Kansas Cities. There's the more well known Kansas City, MO, east of the Missouri river in the state of Missouri, with a population of nearly 500,000 people, and there's the city of Kansas City, KS, west across the Missouri river, with a population of 150,000.