What is the show wicked about?

Wicked is the story of two unlikely friends, Elphaba (the Wicked Witch of the West) and Galinda (later to become Glinda the Good Witch), their struggles through opposing personalities and viewpoints, rivalry over the same love-interest and ultimately, Elphaba's fall from grace.