Is washington d. c.?

Essentially, yes. The city of Washington fills the entire District of Columbia. However, there also is a state of Washington, which is a completely separate entity.

---

Washington D.C. is a district provided for in the United States Constitution. As the seat of federal government, it is not a state. D.C. stands for “District of Columbia”.