How do you open a can of jelly?

If you're having trouble opening a jar, try turning it upside down and thunking the bottom with the heel of your hand a couple of times before you try the lid again. You can also tap the lid gently with the handle of a knife or fork - tap in the direction the lid opens and see if that loosens