How long can someone live without air?

In general, the brain can withstand 3-6 minutes without oxygen before brain damage occurs, but this varies from person to person. If the brain goes without oxygen longer, serious & often irreversible damage is likely to take place. After 10 minutes, severe neurological damage has generally occurred.