What makes you snore?

Snoring happens when you can't move air freely through your nose and throat during sleep. This makes the surrounding tissues vibrate, which produces the familiar snoring sound.

---

Snoring happens when you can't move air freely through your nose and throat during sleep. A buildup of mucus in the nasal passages, a large uvula, slightly swollen tonsils or adenoids, or any combination of these, causes the airways to constrict a bit and then the surrounding tissues vibrate.