What is a flying wolf?

There are different definitions available. All fictional. There is a flying wolf encountered in Stage 3 of Castlevania a combination of bat and wolf. The Pterolycus a wolf with wings. From German, Russian and Hungarian folklore. Additionally, there is the shapeshifter, magical beast.