Why do they call it the graveyard shift?

Someone would have to sit out in the graveyard all night to listen for the bell; thus, someone could be "saved by the bell" or was considered a "dead ringer." The Graveyard Shift, or Graveyard Watch, was the name coined for the work shift of the early morning, typically midnight until 8am.