How do people sleep walk?

Sleepwalking or somnambulism, is a behavior disorder (more common in children) that originates during deep sleep and results in walking or other complex behaviors (talking, eating, driving) while asleep. It affects 1% to 15% of the population. Sleepwalkers typically have no memory of the event.

---

Sleepwalking is a disorder that causes you to get up and walk while you're asleep. Your doctor might call it somnambulism. It usually happens when you're going from a deep stage of sleep to a lighter stage or coming awake. You can't respond while you're sleepwalking and usually don't remember it.