What is the biggest fish in the whole entire world?

The world's largest fish is the whale shark, which can grow to 40 feet long and weigh an average of 20 tons. The sharks are carnivorous, but they aren't likely to take a nibble out of an unwary surfer – they filter plankton through their enormous mouths while swimming at the surface.