What is a g. i. a diamond?

A G.I.A. diamond is one that has a gemological institute of America, or G.I.A. grading report. The G.I.A. grading report is based on scientifically determined information on the diamond. Which includes shape, color, clarity, cut, carat weight, proportions and finish.