What's the temperature of a fridge supposed to be?

The FDA recommends setting the temperature in your refrigerator to be between 32 and 40 degrees Fahrenheit (0 to 4 degrees Celsius). Energy Star recommends between 35 and 38 degrees Fahrenheit (2 to 3 degrees Celsius) to reduce energy use.

---

To ensure that your refrigerator is doing its job, keep its temperature between 1 and 4°C (34 and 39°F), with recommended settings of 2.5°C (37°F), where you are at an optimal distance from both the freezing temperature of 0°C (32°F) as well as far below the maximum safe temperatures of 4°C (39°F).