What is the tomato a vegetable or fruit?

A tomato is most commonly mistaken for a vegetable due to its history. The tomato was originally labeled as a vegetable because it was eaten for dinner and not dessert, unlike other common fruits. Botanically speaking, the tomato is a fruit due to its development and its carrying of seeds.