What is the tomato a vegetable or fruit?

A tomato is most commonly mistaken for a vegetable due to its history. The tomato was originally labeled as a vegetable because it was eaten for dinner and not dessert, unlike other common fruits. Botanically speaking, the tomato is a fruit due to its development and its carrying of seeds.

---

Tomatoes are considered fruits, scientifically speaking - because they develop in the ovary, in the base of a flower - and contain seeds.