Why is the flag on the capitol building at half mast?

The flag can be lowered on the capital building to half-mast in remembrance of a person or historical event.

---

When government buildings, like the Capitol Building, have flags at half mast it is because someone of importance passed away. The person being honored with a half mast flag is usually someone of political, government, military, famous, or elite status.