Tell me about the assassination of lord mountbatten?

Lord Mountbatten was killed, along with 3 other people, in Northern Ireland in 1979 by a bomb that had been planted in his boat by IRA member Thomas McMahon. The IRA considered Mountbatten a war criminal in the troubles between Ireland and England.